Blog, Music, Review

The Bravest Heart – A Review on Brave Enough by Lindsey Stirling

Hello Everyone!

It’s review time here on Feather Charm and I am reviewing Brave. No, it’s not the Disney movie, but it’s the new album by Lindsey Stirling. If you don’t know who she is, Lindsey Stirling is a dubstep violinist, who not only plays the instrument, but also dances as she plays. Some of you might know her from her various covers of different film, game and popular scores, such as the Star Wars Medley, Dragon Age, Radioactive (with Pentatonix) and the Mission Impossible Theme (with the Piano Guys). If those scores don’t ring a bell, maybe her performance on America’s Got Talent might jog your memory:

(Sorry for the bad quality, I couldn’t find much, other than her Shatter Me performance.)

So, it’s been at least 2 years since that audition, and Lindsey has released 3 albums (to date), several major tours and many award wins and nominations. Her music has been known to inspire, despite the lack of a main vocal track for most of her songs. In fact, a couple of them have inspired me to write my novels. Not to mention some of them are messages about her own battles against her own struggles.

Courage Is The Key

Ok, so this review will be rather biased, since I am a fan of Lindsey’s work and I listen to her albums nearly every day. So, with that in mind, I’ll do my best not to let my fond opinions of her to interfere. Let’s get started!



Brave Enough is the name of her latest album. There are two versions of it. If you are ready to splash out, then you can buy the Deluxe version, which contains 4 more songs than the regular one you can find on iTunes or Amazon Music. The song titles are:

1.     Lost Girls
2.    Brave Enough
3.    The Arena
4.    The Phoenix
5.    Where Do We Go
6.    Those Days
7.     Prism
8.    Hold My Heart (feat. ZZ Ward)
9.    Mirage
10. Don’t Let This Feeling Fade
11.  First Light
12. Love’s Just A Feeling
13. Something Wild
14. Gavi’s Song

Of course, these are the regular tracks. The next four are on the deluxe album

1.     Waltz – Bonus Track
2.    Afterglow – Bonus Track
3.    Powerlines – Bonus Track
4.    Forgotten Voyage – Bonus Track

The Features

I think it’s safe to say that I absolutely love this album. It’s no Shatter Me but considering its single The Arena keeps bringing me to tears every time I watch the music video, I think, in terms of the underlying messages of the songs, it comes in a very close second. Even the feature songs have that great sense of nostalgia and mystique to them. Songs like Something Wild and Hold My Heart were songs that remind me to always have that child-like wonder that most adults have forgotten, or brushed off while they grew up.



Sometimes to know the world, you have to be childish. The imagination and creativity of a child brings much more joy than any material goods or inventions. You can live on your smartphone, laptop or computer all your life, but without the creativity of others, you’ll always be lost.

That leads me on to the other tracks, like Lost Girls and Mirage. They are so exotic! In fact, for Lost Girls, I can almost see Peter Pan and the lost boys wandering forests and sand dunes and playing their instruments and toying with their makeshift weapons. When I listen to Mirage, I am reminded of the movie The Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (not many liked that movie…I strangely did), and Dastan’s adventure across the desert, to save his family and his people.



Songs like The Phoenix and The Arena are much more inspiring. To me, The Phoenix truly reminds me of the immortal bird, and its ability to rise from the ashes of its death. Just like when you’ve had a particularly difficult situation to overcome, you will always eventually overcome it, even if it takes years. Something will always inspire you to get back up. The Arena, on the other hand, reminds us that our greatest critic is ourselves, thanks to the music video. I remember my priest using this analogy, to describe our tendency to judge other people and compare them to ourselves:

“When you point a finger at someone else, remember that three are always pointing back at you.”

He’s right! No matter how you judge others, and compare their successes to your own, you will always draw the short straw. The reason why? It’s because not only are you judging them, you’re judging yourself three times as harshly. This is such a huge life lesson for me. I know I’ve judged people, and will continue to judge them, since it’s human nature, but ever since hearing that analogy or metaphor, I’ve done my best not to be so harsh, and just to focus on what I need to do, and not worry about what others are doing.

The Rest

Alright, so I’ve mostly listened to the features of this album, because I think these ones speak to me the most. If you are a fan of Lindsey, or are just getting to know her, I suggest you forget any advice anyone tells you. There will be songs you like and songs you don’t.



Personally, despite being interesting songs, I find myself not as drawn to some of her songs, such as Where Do We Go, Those Days, or Love’s Just A Feeling. I guess it’s because I’ve never had my heart broken in that way before, I’ve never had a relationship that melancholic, so I wouldn’t understand the emotions behind these songs, but for those of you who have, I guess they might speak more to you than they do to me.

When’s The Next One Out?

So, that’s my review this week. Join me next time when I review a handy little app for when you decide to learn a second language. Of course, there are many that you could find on the App store, and you might have some that you’d pay for, but for those of us who can’t afford it, and who’d just like to know the bits and pieces of other languages, this app is rather useful. I’ll be reviewing the app called DuoLingo. So, watch out, maybe you’d be inspired to study a new language for yourself.

Breaking Down Walls One Word At A Time

So, what do you guys think? Have you heard Lindsey’s new album and what did you think of it? What songs did you like, what ones didn’t you like? Let us know in the comments below, and don’t forget to share this post. You never know, your friends might enjoy Lindsey’s music.

This is Feather, signing out!

Signature (2)

If you like this blog, please subscribe to FacebookTwitterSoundcloudBlogger and YouTube.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.