Feather’s Games: League of Legends – Back To Basics

Learning The Simplicities

Well hello there. You may be a little confused as to why I am writing gaming posts now, but as shown above there has been a little shake up, and we are testing to see how this will work. This post is basically about introducing you to League of Legends, and I’ll be explaining all the basics, you need to know, before hopping online to take on other challengers.


Without further ado, let’s start.

Genre And The Aims

League of Legends is classed as a MOBA (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena) game that consists of yourself and 4 other players, aiming to destroy the opponent’s Nexus (base). Another MOBA you might know, similar to League, is Dota 2 as they both follow similar principles. Before you even get in game, there are many things you need to understand, such as the champions, runes and spell book, and summoner spells. After that you need to choose your role in the game. I will cover each of these topics for you so you won’t feel like a fish out of water, when you start playing.


Let me start with the champions and what they are. Champions are effectively different characters that you, your teammates and opponents will pick, when heading into a game. What needs to be further understood from here is that only certain champions are picked/preferred into specific roles. So, your role can be 1 of 5 choices. Top Lane, Middle Lane, Bot Lane (ADC), Bot Lane (Support) and Jungler. These five roles will create your team composition. After making your selections, you will then need to follow your role extremely well, and you will need to adapt to a constantly changing environment in order to help your team win.

Runes Reforged


Now, when it comes to runes, in the upcoming season (Season 8, this effectively means the eighth year League has been around), a lot has changed, but don’t worry I’ll make it simple for now. So, your runes/rune pages will consist of different keystones and passive abilities that will assist your champion in game. Here is where the good is separated from the great. If you understand this then you’ll be able to ensure that you have the best layout against your opponent from the start. The five main runes consist of Precision, Domination, Sorcery, Inspiration and Resolve. With each of these main runes they run down into four more parts. One primary and three secondaries. As well as having a full set of four of one, you area also given another main rune, with two of its secondaries. That makes up a rune page for your champion. I know this is very confusing but trust me. It will get more complex when I come back to this in a later blog.

Summoner Spells and Lanes

Okay, now this topic is a bit easier to understand. When you are in a lobby and are picking your champion, you are allowed to pick two summoner spells to take with you into game. There are eleven to choose from and they all have varying purposes. The main one that nearly everyone takes is flash. Flash allows you to teleport your champion a short distance towards where your cursor is. This comes in handy when wanting to secure a kill or escape from a dangerous situation. Again each role will usually take a specific set of summoner spells. Each spell has a name, and they pretty much do as they’re called: Heal, Ghost, Barrier, Exhaust, Ignite, Smite, Flash, Teleport, Mark, Clarity and Cleanse. When in game, once these spells are used, they have a cooldown time (wait time) until you can use it again, so use it when you know it will count.


Now, let me briefly mention the lanes and their roles. When you join a lobby, players will have already picked or are picking the lane they prefer. Top lane is usually known as an island of it’s own, purely because no one goes up there most of the time. Top lane champions are usually tank characters or hyper carries (champions that get better as the game enters into late game). Jungler is the champion that doesn’t stick to a lane but instead roams the jungle. These champions are usually identified as assassins and have the responsibility of making decisions to help lanes gain an advantage. Bot lane always has two players, the Support, who always assists and takes most of damage and the ADC (Attack Damage Carrier), who focuses on getting off as much damage as possible, whilst progressing further towards the opponent’s Nexus. Finally we have Mid Lane that is generally known as the damage dealer. As much as damage as they cause, they are the most exposed to being ganked. Ganked is when a champion in lane is being ambushed by other players (usually the jungler but can be any other role) to gain a kill.

Final Summary

Well that’s some of the basics of what League of Legends is and what the game’s objective is. Don’t worry if you don’t understand it all yet, there is a lot more to learn. We’ll take a closer look into how these aspects of the game can make you a great player, and why a whole sport (e-sport that is) has been built around it. You’ll soon understand how Runes can help you gain an advantage where an active spell can’t help. It’ll be like a reflex, when you know how to use a Summoner Spell correctly, or how to time your attacks so you hit that last mark, to get the coin advantage. It’ll be slow, but it’ll be worth it. So, stick around!

That wraps up this blog, next time we will discuss more about queing before lobbies, the difference in game modes and an introduction of the basics of in-game mechanics, such as what is the shop, what are minions and all about towers.

Until next time, keep on gaming


If you like this blog, please subscribe to FacebookTwitter, Instagram and YouTube.